BOOK AWARDS: Raymond Souster Award / Pat Lowther Memorial Award / Gerald Lampert Memorial Award

POEM CONTEST FOR YOUTH: Jessamy Stursberg Poetry Contest for Canadian Youth

SPOKEN WORD AWARD: Sheri-D Wilson Golden Beret Award


The Gerald Lampert Memorial Award is given in the memory of Gerald Lampert, an arts administrator who organized authors’ tours and took a particular interest in the work of new writers. The award recognizes the best first book of poetry published by a Canadian in the preceding year. The Award carries a prize of $1,000 and is sponsored by the League of Canadian Poets. It is presented each year at the LCP Annual Poetry Festival and Conference in May or June, with the shortlist announced in April.

Previous Winners of the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award: 
2015 Kayla Czaga, For Your Safety Please Hold On
2014 Murray Reiss, The Survival Rate of Butterflies in the Wild
2013 Gillian Savigny, Notebook M
2012 Yi-Mei Tsiang, Sweet Devilry
2011 Anna Swanson, The Nights Also
2010 James Langer, Gun Dogs
2009 Katia Grubisic, What if red ran out
2008 Alex Boyd, Making Bones Walk
2007 Steven Price, Anatomy of Keys
2006 Suzanne Buffam, Past Imperfect 
2005 Ray Hsu, Anthropy
2004 Adam Getty, RECONCILIaTION
2003 Kathy Mac, Nail Builders Plan for Strength and Growth
2002 Aislinn Hunter, Into the Early Hours
2001 Anne Simpson, Light Falls Through You
2000 Shawna Lemay, All the God-Sized Fruit
1999 Stephanie Bolster, White Stone: The Alice Poems
1998 Mark Sinnett, The Landing
1997 Marilyn Dumont, A Really Good Brown Girl
1996 Maureen Hynes, Rough Skin 
1995 Keith Maillard, Dementia Americana 
1994 Barbara Klar, The Night You Called Me a Shadow and Illya Tourtidis, Mad Magellanês Tale 
1993 Elisabeth Harvor, Fortress of Chairs and Roberta Rees, Eyes Like Pigeons 
1992 Joanne Arnott, Wiles of Girlhood 
1991 Diana Brebner, Radiant Life Forms 
1990 Steven Heighton, Stalinês Carnival 
1989 Sarah Klassen, Journey to Yalta 
1988 Di Brandt, Questions I Asked My Mother 
1987 Rosemary Sullivan, The Space a Name Makes 
1986 Joan Fern Shaw, Raspberry Vinegar 
1985 Paulette Jiles, Celestial Navigation 
1984 Sandra Birdsell, Night Travellers and Jean McKay, Gone to Grass 
1983 Diana Hartog, Manitee Light 
1982 Abraham Boyarsky, Schielber and Edna Alford, A Sleep Full of Dreams 
1981 Elizabeth Allan, The Shored Up House


The author must be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident/landed immigrant.

The title must be the author’s first book of poetry, and have been published in 2015. (Chapbooks are not eligible.)

The title must be accompanied by a completed Gerald Lampert Award Submission Form.

The title must conform to the UNESCO definition of a book, that is at least 48 pages in length, excluding front and back material.

A book may be submitted in any language, but submissions in a language other than English must be accompanied by a translation.

Four (4) copies of the book must be submitted by the publisher, author or other nominator. We regret that books cannot be returned.

A brief biography and bibliography of the author should be included.

All submissions must be post-marked no later than November 1, 2015 and should be sent to The League of Canadian Poets, 192 Spadina Ave., Suite 312, Toronto ON M5T 2C2, Attention: Gerald Lampert Memorial Award.

Please note: Books which are in the process of being published and which will be released in November and December of 2015 (after the Nov. 1 deadline) can be submitted late up to December 15th, however; please contact the LCP’s office as soon as possible to inform us of your situation. After December 15th at 5:00pm, no further entries will be accepted.

The judges retain the right not to award the prize if, in their opinion, no entry is of sufficient merit.

There is a $25 handling fee per title for the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award.

Please make all cheques payable to the League of Canadian Poets. The LCP does not accept handling fees in cash.