The League of Canadian Poets proudly presents the 2018 Book Awards shortlists for the Gerald Lampert and Pat Lowther Memorial Awards, the Raymond Souster Award and, together with the Calgary Spoken Word Society, the finalists for the 2018 Sheri-D Wilson Golden Beret Award. The winners will be announced in Toronto on Saturday June 16, 2018 at the League’s awards ceremony. We will be live-tweeting the big reveal, so be sure to follow @CanadianPoets to be among the first to find out who wins!

In the meantime, we’ve got some exciting things planned to help you get to know the poets and their nominated works. Be sure to follow our News page and social media accounts throughout May and June to meet the shortlisters!

But wait, that’s not all! We have some big news:

Our book awards and Golden Beret cash prizes are DOUBLING, meaning that this year’s winners will be the first to receive not one, but two-thousand dollars ($2000)! Thanks to increased funding from Canada Council for the Arts and continued support from the Ontario Arts Council, Toronto Arts Council, and Canada Book Fund for making this possible!



This Wound is a World by Billy-Ray Belcourt  (Frontenac House)| Faunics by Jack Davis (Pedlar Press) | Thin Air of the Knowable by Wendy Donawa (Brick Books) | Otolith by Emily Nilsen (Goose Lane Editions) | The Rules of the Kingdom by Julie Paul (McGill-Queen’s University Press) | Admission Requirements by Phoebe Wang (McClelland & Stewart)

2018 jury: Laura McRae, Sandra Ridley, Clea Roberts

Read the jury’s comments plus author bios here.


Indianland by Lesley Belleau (ARP Books) | Bicycle Thieves by Mary di Michele (EWC Press) | Museum of Kindness by Susan Elmslie (Brick Books) | Breathing at Dusk by Beth Goobie (Coteau Books) | Dear Ghost, by Catherine Owen (Wolsak & Wynn) |  Admission Requirements by Phoebe Wang (McClelland & Stewart)

2018 jury: Bruce Meyer, Cheryl Antao-Xavier, Julie Cameron Gray

Read the jury’s comments plus author bios here.


This Wound is a World by Billy-Ray Belcourt  (Frontenac House) The Better Monsters by Puneet Dutt (Mansfield Press) | Cloud Physics by Karen Enns (University of Regina Press) | Slow War by Benjamin Hertwig (McGill-Queen’s University Press) | Trailer Park Elegy by Cornelia Hoogland (Harbour Publishing) | Voodoo Hypothesis by Canisia Lubrin (Wolsak & Wynn)

2018 jury: Hendrik Slegtenhorst, Almeda Miller, Jimmy McInnes

Read the jury’s comments plus author bios here.

Sheri-D Wilson Golden Beret Award 2018 Finalists


kaie kellough is a word-sound systemizer. his systems originate in the inchoate swirl of vowels, consonants, misspellings, shapes, stammerings, and emerge as audio recordings, books, visual entities, volumes of letters, and performances that verse and reverse utterance. kaie’s work fuses formal experiment and social engagement. kaie is the author of one novel, two books of poetry, and two albums. he has performed and published internationally. kaie lives in montréal, where he works on new and old ideas. Photo (by Pablo Riquelme) and bio from http://kaie.ca/kaie-kellough.

Ian Keteku’s poetry is an articulation of a generation’s heartbeat. A magician with syntax he conjures new realities all in an attempt to better understand our existence. Keteku is a two time national slam champion and the 2010 World Poetry Slam champion. Keteku has showcased his poetry and art all over the world and shared stages with some of the biggest names in music and literature. He uses his voice to inspire messages of peace, action and critical thought. Ian Keteku is also a multi-media artist, producing thought-provoking poetic films. He conducts poetry, writing and performance workshops for students of all ages, inspiring people to accept the power of their own voice. Bio from http://www.ianketeku.com, photo from https://www.facebook.com/Ian-Keteku-48125836776.

Dwayne Morgan has been dubbed ‘The Godfather of Spoken Word’, by his peers. Morgan is the author of several titles and albums, and has toured extensively around the world, while promoting the art of spoken word in elementary and high schools. Morgan, with support from the York Region District School Board, has created Ontario’s first school poetry slam league. Bio from the League’s membership directory, photo from https://www.facebook.com/theofficialdwaynemorganpage.