Sheri-D Wilson Golden Beret Award

for lifetime achievement in Canadian spoken word poetry.

The Sheri-D Wilson Golden Beret Award is an annual literary prize crafted specifically to highlight the unique strengths and values of spoken word poetry. The Sheri-D Wilson Golden Beret Award honours an established Canadian poet with a history of achievement and performance in spoken word.

The Grand Prize for the Sheri-D Wilson Golden Beret Award is $2000.

With this prize, the League is excited to be focusing on spoken word poetry—including dub poetry, sound poetry, and slam poetry, among many other subgenres—and it’s rich and powerful history that has grown to take the international stage by storm.

The Winner of the 2021 Sheri-D Wilson Golden Beret Award is Jillian Christmas! 

photo by Kay Ho

Nominations for the 2021 Golden Beret Award are now closed.

    • Spoken word poets must be nominated for this award and are not allowed to self-nominate.
    • Nominations are open to members of the League of Canadian Poets as well non-members.
    • Nominators must provide the poet’s email, and a brief letter outlining their candidacy for the award.
    • Nominated poets will be contacted to provide their biography, literary CV, and/or additional materials (i.e. videos, audio recordings, informal publications).
    • Eligible nominations will be reviewed by panel of three established spoken word artists for a chance to win the grand prize of $2000.
    • For any questions or queries regarding the Sheri d Wilson Golden Beret Award nomination process, please contact

The Sheri-D Wilson Golden Beret Award was founded by Sheri-D Wilson and the Calgary Spoken Word Society. Past iterations of this award have honoured Canadian spoken word artists who made substantial contributions to the development of spoken word, through the originality of their writing/performance works and involvement in the expansion of the spoken word community.

Last year’s 2020 Sheri-D Wilson Golden Beret Award winner was Charlie C Petch!

Previous Recipients:

2019 – Andrea Thompson (Toronto, ON)
2018 – Dwayne Morgan (Toronto, ON)
2017 – d’bi.young anitafrika (Toronto, ON)
– RC Weslowski (Vancouver, BC)
– Penn Kemp (London, ON)
– bill bissett (Toronto, ON)
2013 – Tanya Evanson (Vancouver, BC)
2012 – Kirk Miles (Calgary, AB)
2011 – Ian Ferrier (Montréal, QC)
2010 – Wendy Morton (Victoria,BC)
2009 – Lillian Allen (Toronto, ON)
2008 – Sarah Murphy (Calgary, AB)
2007 – Murdoch Burnett (Comox, BC)