## **CONTACT INFO**

416-504-1657 nicole@poets.ca Nic Brewer, Artistic Programming Director



## **Press Release**

League of Canadian Poets announces longlists for three book awards, celebrating 27 poets

Wednesday, April 10, 2024

TORONTO - The League of Canadian Poets is excited to announce three book award longlists featuring 27 books of poetry published in 2023. Each award carries a \$2,000 prize for the winner, which will be announced on Wednesday, May 1, 2024.

The Gerald Lampert Memorial Award, for a debut book of poetry, is given in the memory of Gerald Lampert, an arts administrator who organized authors' tours and took a particular interest in the work of new writers.

The Pat Lowther Memorial Award is awarded memory of the late Pat Lowther, whose career was cut short by her untimely death in 1975. As a women's prize, the Pat Lowther Memorial Award is inclusive of cis women, trans women, and non-binary writers who feel comfortable being recognized by a women's prize.

The Raymond Souster Award, which celebrates a new book of poetry by a League member, honors Raymond Souster, a founder of the League.

Award shortlists will be announced on Wednesday, April 17, 2024, and winners will be announced on Wednesday, May 1, 2024. An online reading will be held on Tuesday, April 30, 2024 to celebrate the shortlisted poets.

Graphics, author photos, and author bios can all be found at poets.ca/longlist2024.

Longlist details follow.

## **CONTACT INFO**

416-504-1657 nicole@poets.ca Nic Brewer, Artistic Programming Director



# Gerald Lampert Memorial Award longlist celebrates 12 debut books of poetry from 2023

Wednesday, April 10, 2024

TORONTO - The League of Canadian Poets is excited to announce the 2024 Gerald Lampert Memorial Prize longlist, celebrating debut books of poetry published in 2023.

The Gerald Lampert Memorial Award, for a debut book of poetry, is given in the memory of Gerald Lampert, an arts administrator who organized authors' tours and took a particular interest in the work of new writers. The award carries a \$2,000 prize for the winner, which will be announced on Wednesday, May 1, 2024.

The longlist was selected by a jury comprising Conyer Clayton, Michael V. Smith, and Shannon Webb-Campbell:

Wires That Sputter by Britta Badour (McClelland & Stewart)

The All + Flesh by Brandi Bird (House of Anansi Press)

Chores by Maggie Burton (Breakwater Books Ltd.)

Celebrate Pride with Lockheed Martin by Jake Byrne (Wolsak and Wynn Publishers)

Xanax Cowboy by Hannah Green (House of Anansi Press)

Crushed Wild Mint by Jess Housty (Nightwood Editions)

The Animal in the Room by Meghan Kemp-Gee (Coach House Books)

[about]ness by Eimear Laffan (McGill-Queen's University Press)

Baby Book by Amy Lam (Brick Books)

Archipelago by Laila Malik (Book\*hug Press)

Sonnets from a Cell by Bradley Peters (Brick Books)

More Sure by A Light Zachary (Arsenal Pulp Press)

## Graphics, author photos, and author bios can all be found at poets.ca/longlist2024.

The League of Canadian Poets is Canada's only national professional poetry organization. The League's mandate is to elevate the cultural significance of poetry and champion the role of poets. Working to nurture and expand poetry communities and audiences, the organization cultivates the local, national, and international publication, performance, and recognition of poetry. The League supports equitable and inclusive artistic practice through poetry education and development.