CONTACT INFO

416-504-1657 nicole@poets.ca Nic Brewer, Artistic Programming Director



Press Release

League of Canadian Poets celebrates 15 poets shortlisted for annual book awards

Wednesday, April 17, 2024

TORONTO - The League of Canadian Poets is excited to announce three book award shortlists featuring 15 books of poetry published in 2023. Each award carries a \$2,000 prize for the winner, which will be announced on Wednesday, May 1, 2024.

The Gerald Lampert Memorial Award, for a debut book of poetry, is given in the memory of Gerald Lampert, an arts administrator who organized authors' tours and took a particular interest in the work of new writers.

The Pat Lowther Memorial Award is awarded memory of the late Pat Lowther, whose career was cut short by her untimely death in 1975. As a women's prize, the Pat Lowther Memorial Award is inclusive of cis women, trans women, and non-binary writers who feel comfortable being recognized by a women's prize.

The Raymond Souster Award, which celebrates a new book of poetry by a League member, honors Raymond Souster, a founder of the League.

Award winners will be announced on Wednesday, May 1, 2024. An online reading will be held on Tuesday, April 30, 2024 at 8pm ET to celebrate the shortlisted poets.

Graphics, jury comments, author photos, and author bios can all be found at poets.ca/shortlist2024.

Shortlist details follow. Please note author pronouns.

CONTACT INFO

416-504-1657 nicole@poets.ca Nic Brewer, Artistic Programming Director



Gerald Lampert Memorial Award shortlist celebrates 6 debut books of poetry from 2023

Wednesday, April 17, 2024

TORONTO - The League of Canadian Poets is excited to announce the 2024 Gerald Lampert Memorial Prize shortlist, celebrating debut books of poetry published in 2023.

The Gerald Lampert Memorial Award, for a debut book of poetry, is given in the memory of Gerald Lampert, an arts administrator who organized authors' tours and took a particular interest in the work of new writers. The award carries a \$2,000 prize for the winner, which will be announced on Wednesday, May 1, 2024.

The shortlist was selected by a jury comprising Conyer Clayton, Michael V. Smith, and Shannon Webb-Campbell:

Wires That Sputter by Britta Badour (McClelland & Stewart) The All + Flesh by Brandi Bird (House of Anansi Press) Chores by Maggie Burton (Breakwater Books Ltd.) Xanax Cowboy by Hannah Green (House of Anansi Press) Archipelago by Laila Malik (Book*hug Press) More Sure by A. Light Zachary (Arsenal Pulp Press)

An online reading will be held on Tuesday, April 30 at 8pm ET featuring brief readings from shortlisted poets. Graphics, jury comments, author photos, author bios, and event details can all be found at poets.ca/shortlist2024.

The League of Canadian Poets is Canada's only national professional poetry organization. The League's mandate is to elevate the cultural significance of poetry and champion the role of poets. Working to nurture and expand poetry communities and audiences, the organization cultivates the local, national, and international publication, performance, and recognition of poetry. The League supports equitable and inclusive artistic practice through poetry education and development.

[For internal use only: please note author pronouns - Britta Badour, she/her; Brandi Bird, they/them; Maggie Burton, she/her; Hannah Green, she/her; Laila Malik, she/her; A. Light Zachary, they/them.]