CONTACT INFO

416-504-1657 nicole@poets.ca Nic Brewer, Artistic Programming Director



Press Release

League of Canadian Poets announces longlists for three book awards, celebrating 27 poets

Wednesday, April 10, 2024

TORONTO - The League of Canadian Poets is excited to announce three book award longlists featuring 27 books of poetry published in 2023. Each award carries a \$2,000 prize for the winner, which will be announced on Wednesday, May 1, 2024.

The Gerald Lampert Memorial Award, for a debut book of poetry, is given in the memory of Gerald Lampert, an arts administrator who organized authors' tours and took a particular interest in the work of new writers.

The Pat Lowther Memorial Award is awarded memory of the late Pat Lowther, whose career was cut short by her untimely death in 1975. As a women's prize, the Pat Lowther Memorial Award is inclusive of cis women, trans women, and non-binary writers who feel comfortable being recognized by a women's prize.

The Raymond Souster Award, which celebrates a new book of poetry by a League member, honors Raymond Souster, a founder of the League.

Award shortlists will be announced on Wednesday, April 17, 2024, and winners will be announced on Wednesday, May 1, 2024. An online reading will be held on Tuesday, April 30, 2024 to celebrate the shortlisted poets.

Graphics, author photos, and author bios can all be found at poets.ca/longlist2024.

Longlist details follow.

CONTACT INFO

416-504-1657 nicole@poets.ca Nic Brewer, Artistic Programming Director



Raymond Souster Award longlist celebrates 12 new books of poetry

Wednesday, April 10, 2024

TORONTO - The League of Canadian Poets is excited to announce the 2024 Raymond Souster Award longlist, celebrating new books of poetry authored by League members and published in 2023.

The Raymond Souster Award, which celebrates a new book of poetry by a League member, honors Raymond Souster, a founder of the League. The award carries a \$2,000 prize for the winner, which will be announced on Wednesday, May 1, 2024.

The longlist was selected by a jury comprising Tara Borin, Adebe DeRango-Adem, and David Ly:

Wires that Sputter by Britta Badour (McClelland & Stewart)

Uncomfortability by Roxanna Bennett (Gordon Hill Press)

The All + Flesh by Brandi Bird (House of Anansi Press)

Stedfast by Ali Blythe (Goose Lane Editions)

Bottom Rail on Top by D.M. Bradford (Brick Books)

Beast Body Epic by Amanda Earl (AngelHousePress)

act normal by nancy viva davis Halifax (McGill-Queen's University Press)

Spells, Wishes, and the Talking Dead: LL"ĊΔ·γΔ·'<J\\)" るのではなっぱく mamahtâwisiwin,

pakosêyimow, nikihci-âniskotâpân by Wanda John-Kehewin (Talonbooks)

Slows: Twice by T. Liem (Coach House Books)

Elementary Particles by Sneha Madhavan-Reese (Brick Books)

Sonnets from a Cell by Bradley Peters (Brick Books)

No Town Called We by Nikki Reimer (Talonbooks)

Graphics, author photos, and author bios can all be found at poets.ca/longlist2024.

The League of Canadian Poets is Canada's only national professional poetry organization. The League's mandate is to elevate the cultural significance of poetry and champion the role of poets. Working to nurture and expand poetry communities and audiences, the organization cultivates the local, national, and international publication, performance, and recognition of poetry. The League supports equitable and inclusive artistic practice through poetry education and development.