416-504-1657 nicole@poets.ca Nic Brewer, Artistic Programming Director



Press Release

League of Canadian Poets announces longlists for three book awards, celebrating 27 poets

Wednesday, April 30, 2025

TORONTO - The League of Canadian Poets is excited to announce three book award longlists featuring 27 books of poetry published in 2024. Each award carries a \$2,000 prize for the winner, which will be announced on Wednesday, May 14, 2025.

The Gerald Lampert Memorial Award, for a debut book of poetry, is given in the memory of Gerald Lampert, an arts administrator who organized authors' tours and took a particular interest in the work of new writers.

The Pat Lowther Memorial Award is awarded in memory of the late Pat Lowther, whose career was cut short by her untimely death in 1975. As a women's prize, the Pat Lowther Memorial Award is inclusive of cis women, trans women, and non-binary writers who feel comfortable being recognized by a women's prize.

The Raymond Souster Award, which celebrates a new book of poetry by a League member, honors Raymond Souster, a founder of the League.

Award shortlists will be announced on Wednesday, May 7, 2025, and winners will be announced on Wednesday, May 14, 2025. An online reading will be held on Tuesday, May 13, 2024 to celebrate the shortlisted poets.

Graphics, author photos, and author bios can all be found at poets.ca/longlist2025.

Longlist details follow.

416-504-1657 nicole@poets.ca Nic Brewer, Artistic Programming Director



Gerald Lampert Memorial Award longlist celebrates 12 debut books of poetry from 2024

Wednesday, April 30, 2025

TORONTO - The League of Canadian Poets is excited to announce the 2025 Gerald Lampert Memorial Prize longlist, celebrating debut books of poetry published in 2024.

The Gerald Lampert Memorial Award, for a debut book of poetry, is given in the memory of Gerald Lampert, an arts administrator who organized authors' tours and took a particular interest in the work of new writers. The award carries a \$2,000 prize for the winner, which will be announced on Wednesday, May 14, 2025.

2025 Gerald Lampert Memorial Award longlist:

The Seventh Town of Ghosts by Faith Arkorful (MClelland & Stewart)

I Hate Parties by Jes Battis (Nightwood Editions)

Blood Belies by Ellen Chang-Richardson (Wolsak & Wynn)

Aqueous by Nathanael Jones (The Porcupine's Quill)

Wrap in a Big White Towel by Callista Markotich (Frontenac House)

What Fills Your House Like Smoke by E. McGregor (Thistledown Press)

The Knot of My Tongue by Zehra Naqvi (McClelland & Stewart)

Last Hours by Jennifer May Newhook (Riddle Fence Publishing)

Dayo by Marc Perez (Brick Books)

Precedented Parroting by Barbara Tran (Palimpsest Press)

Scientific Marvel by Chimwemwe Undi (House of Anansi Press)

shima by shō yamagushiku (McClelland & Stewart)

Graphics, author photos, and author bios can all be found at poets.ca/longlist2025.

The League of Canadian Poets is Canada's only national professional poetry organization. The League's mandate is to elevate the cultural significance of poetry and champion the role of poets. Working to nurture and expand poetry communities and audiences, the organization cultivates the local, national, and international publication, performance, and recognition of poetry. The League supports equitable and inclusive artistic practice through poetry education and development.

416-504-1657 nicole@poets.ca Nic Brewer, Artistic Programming Director



Pat Lowther Memorial Award longlist celebrates 12 women poets

Wednesday, April 30, 2025

TORONTO - The League of Canadian Poets is excited to announce the 2025 Pat Lowther Memorial Prize longlist, celebrating books of poetry authored by women and published in 2024.

The Pat Lowther Memorial Award is awarded in memory of the late Pat Lowther, whose career was cut short by her untimely death in 1975. As a women's prize, the Pat Lowther Memorial Award is inclusive of cis women, trans women, and non-binary writers who feel comfortable being recognized by a women's prize. The award carries a \$2,000 prize for the winner, which will be announced on Wednesday, May 14, 2025.

2025 Pat Lowther Memorial Award longlist:

The Seventh Town of Ghosts by Faith Arkorful (McClelland & Stewart)

Heliotropia by Manahil Bandukwala (Brick Books)

I Will Get Up Off Of by Simina Banu (Coach House Books)

impact statement by Jody Chan (Brick Books)

Farm: Lot 23 by Tonya Lailey (Gaspereau Press)

Empires of the Everyday by Anna Lee-Popham (McClelland & Stewart)

Good Want by Domenica Martinello (Coach House Books)

Oh Witness Dey! by Shani Mootoo (Book*hug Press)

The Knot of My Tongue by Zehra Naqvi (McClelland & Stewart)

The Work by Bren Simmers (Gaspereau Press)

Invisible Lives by Cristalle Smith (University of Calgary Press)

Precedented Parroting by Barbara Tran (Palimpsest Press)

Graphics, author photos, and author bios can all be found at poets.ca/longlist2025.

The League of Canadian Poets is Canada's only national professional poetry organization. The League's mandate is to elevate the cultural significance of poetry and champion the role of poets. Working to nurture and expand poetry communities and audiences, the organization cultivates the local, national, and international publication, performance, and recognition of poetry. The League supports equitable and inclusive artistic practice through poetry education and development.

416-504-1657 nicole@poets.ca Nic Brewer, Artistic Programming Director



Raymond Souster Award longlist celebrates 12 new books of poetry

Wednesday, April 30, 2025

TORONTO - The League of Canadian Poets is excited to announce the 2025 Raymond Souster Award longlist, celebrating new books of poetry authored by League members and published in 2024.

The Raymond Souster Award, which celebrates a new book of poetry by a League member, honors Raymond Souster, a founder of the League. The award carries a \$2,000 prize for the winner, which will be announced on Wednesday, May 14, 2025.

2025 Raymond Souster Award longlist:

Heliotropia by Manahil Bandukwala (Brick Books)

WAKEWord by Wakefield Brewster (Frontenac House)

Ox Lost, Snow Deep by Alice Burdick (Anvil Press)

In the Key of Decay by Em Dial (Palimpsest Press)

Graphis scripta / writing lichen by Clare Goulet (Gaspereau Press)

Aqueous by Nathanael Jones (The Porcupine's Quill)

The Knot of My Tongue by Zehra Naqvi (McClelland & Stewart)

echolalia echolalia by Jane Shi (Brick Books)

Weather by Rob Taylor (Gaspereau Press)

Precedented Parroting by Barbara Tran (Palimpsest Press)

Scientific Marvel by Chimwemwe Undi (House of Anansi Press)

shima by shō yamagushiku (McClelland & Stewart)

Graphics, author photos, and author bios can all be found at poets.ca/longlist2025.

The League of Canadian Poets is Canada's only national professional poetry organization. The League's mandate is to elevate the cultural significance of poetry and champion the role of poets. Working to nurture and expand poetry communities and audiences, the organization cultivates the local, national, and international publication, performance, and recognition of poetry. The League supports equitable and inclusive artistic practice through poetry education and development.