Poetry News

New address as of May 1, 2018

We’ve moved! As of May 1, 2018, please find us at 2 Carlton Street Suite 1519, Toronto ON, M5B 1J3.


Very Small Verse Contest Now Open

Announcing the League’s Very Small Verse Contest: small poems, big ideas. As the saying goes, poetry is everywhere and what easier way to fill our everyday moments with poetry than with short and accessible poems? Micropoems are poems that are spare in size but not in impact, whose ambitions and effects are bigger than the form. The Very Small Verse Contest invites and challenges poets to submit 4 previously unpublished micropoems – at least six (6) words in length but no more than two-hundred (200) characters – for a chance to win $150 plus social media promotion and publication opportunities! Deadline: January 11, 2018. To view the submission guidelines, click here.


LCP Chapbook Series: Call for LGBTQI2S Poets

The League is embarking on a new quarterly chapbook publication program with the express intent to center diverse voices and rising poetic talents in Canada. The LCP Chapbook Series will publish fresh and exceptional Canadian poetry guided by various themes and forms to increase visibility and recognition for the various identities held by folks contributing and belonging to the vibrant Canadian poetry community. This program will launch in 2019 with a collection of outstanding entries from our most popular contest to date – stay tuned!

We are now accepting submissions for the second 2019 series chapbook for poets who identify anywhere on the LGBTQI2S spectrum. In celebration of contemporary writing in Canada, the chapbook will amplify queer voices that continue to enrich, question, and propel literature in Canada. We specifically encourage writers with intersecting marginalized identities to submit. Ali Blythe is the guest editor for this project. To view the full call, click here.


Subscribe to Poetry Pause for your daily delivery of Canadian poetry!

Introducing #PoetryPause, the League’s daily poetry dispatch. Poetry Pause delivers more than a poem; it delivers the chance for folks to pause for poetry – to spare a few minutes each day for words that heal, inspire, and sustain. And we’re still accepting submissions!

To view submission guidelines or sign up to receive Poetry Pause directly to your inbox, click here.

Thank you for helping us build this exciting venture in Canadian poetry!


Call for Submissions: The 2019 Sheri-D Wilson #GoldenBeret Award

This fall, the League is thrilled to announce a new opportunity for rising and established spoken word poets in Canada: a literary prize crafted specifically to highlight the unique strengths and values of spoken word poetry. Spoken word poets at all stages of their artistic development are encouraged to submit a micro-portfolio to be reviewed by a panel of three established spoken word artists – all for a chance at the grand prize of $2,000! The #GoldenBeretAward is open for submissions from members and non-members! Deadline: December 14, 2018. To view our submission guidelines, click here.  Jurors will be announced soon! 


Call for Submissions: The League’s Annual Book Awards

The League’s annual book awards – the Gerald Lampert Memorial, Pat Lowther Memorial, and Raymond Souster Awards – are now open for submissions! Submitted titles must be published in 2018. Chapbooks and self-published books are not eligible. Applications can be submitted by the author or publisher. Visit poets.ca/awards for more information.


Poetry Updates Straight to Your Inbox

We’re happy to have recently started up a public newsletter that goes out every 4-6 weeks with calls for submissions, writing opportunities, news from the League, and general poetry news and updates! Sign up today to get the best of Canadian poetry straight to your inbox. You can also sign up for our new Feminist Caucus newsletter, Lit Feminist, here.