Gerald Lampert Memorial Award

lampertThe Gerald Lampert Memorial Award is given in the memory of Gerald Lampert, an arts administrator who organized authors’ tours and took a particular interest in the work of new writers. The award recognizes the best first book of poetry published by a Canadian in the preceding year. The Award carries a prize of $1,000 and is sponsored by the League of Canadian Poets. It is presented each year at the LCP Annual Conference in June, with the shortlist announced in April.



  • The author must be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident/landed immigrant.
  • The title must be the author’s first book of poetry, and have been published in 2016. Must have one author. Translators are not eligible as authors.
  • The title must conform to the UNESCO definition of a book, and be at least 48 pages in length, excluding front and back material. Chapbooks are not eligible.
  • A book may be submitted in any language. Submissions in a language other than English must be accompanied by a translation.
  • The book must be published by a reputable press with an independent editorial process and publishing program. Self published books are not eligible.
  • The book may be submitted by publisher, author or other nominator.
  • The submission package must contain a completed Gerald Lampert Award Submission Form, four (4) copies** of the title and a $25.00 handling fee (non-refundable). A brief biography and bibliography of the author should be included as well.
  • Please make cheques payable to the League of Canadian Poets. Cash payments will not be accepted.
  • We regret that books cannot be returned.

* Submissions must be post-marked no later than November 1 and mailed to 312 – 192 Spadina Avenue, Toronto ON M5T 2C2. An extension until December 15 may be granted for books being released after November 1. A request for an extension must be emailed to before November 1. No entries will be accepted after 5:00 pm on December 15.

** When submitting a title for more than one award, please include three (3) copies per award plus one (1) additional copy for League office. For example,  if a title is being submitted for both Lowther and Lampert awards include seven (7) copies of the book.

2016 WINNER: Otter by Ben Ladouceur (Coach House Books)

Otter Ben Ladoucer



2016 Ben Ladouceur, Otter
2015 Kayla Czaga, For Your Safety Please Hold On
2014 Murray Reiss, The Survival Rate of Butterflies in the Wild
2013 Gillian Savigny, Notebook M
2012 Yi-Mei Tsiang, Sweet Devilry
2011 Anna Swanson, The Nights Also
2010 James Langer, Gun Dogs
2009 Katia Grubisic, What if red ran out
2008 Alex Boyd, Making Bones Walk
2007 Steven Price, Anatomy of Keys
2006 Suzanne Buffam, Past Imperfect
2005 Ray Hsu, Anthropy
2004 Adam Getty, RECONCILIaTION
2003 Kathy Mac, Nail Builders Plan for Strength and Growth
2002 Aislinn Hunter, Into the Early Hours
2001 Anne Simpson, Light Falls Through You
2000 Shawna Lemay, All the God-Sized Fruit
1999 Stephanie Bolster, White Stone: The Alice Poems
1998 Mark Sinnett, The Landing
1997 Marilyn Dumont, A Really Good Brown Girl
1996 Maureen Hynes, Rough Skin 
1995 Keith Maillard, Dementia Americana 
1994 Barbara Klar, The Night You Called Me a Shadow and Illya Tourtidis, Mad Magellanês Tale 
1993 Elisabeth Harvor, Fortress of Chairs and Roberta Rees, Eyes Like Pigeons 
1992 Joanne Arnott, Wiles of Girlhood 
1991 Diana Brebner, Radiant Life Forms 
1990 Steven Heighton, Stalinês Carnival 
1989 Sarah Klassen, Journey to Yalta 
1988 Di Brandt, Questions I Asked My Mother 
1987 Rosemary Sullivan, The Space a Name Makes 
1986 Joan Fern Shaw, Raspberry Vinegar 
1985 Paulette Jiles, Celestial Navigation 
1984 Sandra Birdsell, Night Travellers and Jean McKay, Gone to Grass 
1983 Diana Hartog, Manitee Light 
1982 Abraham Boyarsky, Schielber and Edna Alford, A Sleep Full of Dreams 
1981 Elizabeth Allan, The Shored Up House