Raymond Souster Award

for a book of poetry by a League member.


The Raymond Souster Award is given for a book of poetry by a League of Canadian Poets member. The award honours Raymond Souster, an early founder of the League of Canadian Poets. The award carries a $2,000 prize.

View poets.ca/awards for the most up-to-date award submission and eligibility information.

Winner of the 2022 Raymond Souster Award

The Untranslatable I by Roxanna Bennett (Gordon Hill Press)

See the 2022 Winners Announcement

See the 2022 Shortlists for the Raymond Souster Award

See the 2022 Longlist for the Raymond Souster Award


2021: Word Problems by Ian Williams

2020 Winner: Unmeaningable by Roxanna Bennett

2019 – Stevie Howell, I left nothing inside on purpose

2018– Karen Enns, Cloud Physics

2017 – Louise Bernice Halfe, Burning in This Midnight Dream

2016 – Lorna Crozier, The Wrong Cat

2015 – Patrick Lane, Washita

2014 – Anne Compton, Alongside

2013 – A.F. Moritz, The New Measures