2020 Book Awards Shortlists Announcement

The League of Canadian Poets is proud to present the 2020 Book Awards Shortlists, including the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award, the Pat Lowther Memorial Award, and the Raymond Souster Award.

The winners – who will each receive $2000 thanks to funding from Canada Council for the Arts , Ontario Arts CouncilToronto Arts Council, and Canada Book Fund – will be announced on May 11, 2020. This announcement will be shared via our newsletter and social media, so be sure to follow @CanadianPoets to keep up to date on all the latest announcements and news.



Float and Scurry by Heather Birrell (Anvil Press/A Feed Dog Book)

Doubter’s Hymnal by Laura Cok (Mansfield Press)

What to Wear When Surviving A Lion Attack by Paola Ferrante (Mansfield Press)

77 Fragments of a Familiar Ruin by Thomas King (HarperCollins Publishers)

Re-Origin of Species by Alessandra Naccarato (Book*hug Press)

These are not the potatoes of my youth by Matthew Walsh (Goose Lane Editions)


2020 Jury: Ben Ladouceur, Robin Richardson, Anna Yin

See the full pdf release including author photos, bios, and juror comments: 2020 Gerald Lampert Memorial Award Shortlist 



Unmeaningable by Roxanna Bennett (Gordon Hill Press)

How She Read by Chantal Gibson (Caitlin Press)

Sotto Voce by Maureen Hynes (Brick Books)

heft by Doyali Islam (McClelland & Stewart)

Inquiries by Michelle Porter (Breakwater Books)

The Caiplie Caves by Karen Solie (House of Anansi Press)

Cluster by Souvankham Thammavongsa (McClelland & Stewart)


2020 Jury: Annick MacAskill, Billeh Nickerson, Soraya Peerbaye

See the full pdf release including author photos, bios, and juror comments: 2020 Pat Lowther Memorial Award Shortlist 



NDN Coping Mechanisms by Billy-Ray Belcourt (House of Anansi Press)

Unmeaningable by Roxanna Bennett (Gordon Hill Press)

Sonnet’s Shakespeare by Sonnet L’Abbé (McClelland & Stewart)

Drolleries by Cassidy McFadzean (McClelland & Stewart)

New Brunswick by Shane Neilson (Biblioasis)

Crow Gulch by Douglas Walbourne-Gough (Goose Lane Editions)


2020 Jury: Jim Johnstone, Randy Lundy, Suzanne Zelazo

See the full pdf release including author photos, bios, and juror comments: 2020 Raymond Souster Award Shortlist


About the League of Canadian Poets

Established in 1966, the League of Canadian Poets is a national non-profit organization dedicated to supporting, engaging, and promoting poets and poetry in Canada. For more information, visit Poets.ca.


About National Poetry Month

Established in April 1998 by the League of Canadian Poets, NPM brings together schools, publishers, booksellers, literary organizations, libraries, and poets from across the country to celebrate poetry and its vital place in Canada’s culture.Visit poets.ca/npm to see how the League is celebrating.